Seahawks Cornerback Richard Sherman Selected as PFWA's 2015 Good Guy Award Winner

Posted by:
Richard Sherman

Back in June, the Pro Football Writers of America (PFWA) announced that Richard Sherman would receive the 2015 Good Guy Award. But on Wednesday at Renton's Virginia Mason Athletic Center ahead of Sherman's weekly press conference, the award became officially official, with ESPN's John Clayton presenting the Seahawks All-Pro cornerback with a plaque signifying the honor.

"This is the 11th time we’ve given this award," Clayton said to Sherman. "It’s all been given to offensive players. You’re the first defensive player, as a trendsetter, to do this. A 'Good Guy Award' is somebody who deals with the media so well, is professional, gives good insight - great insight, and is always open to us. Richard, thank you.”

Sherman becomes the second consecutive Seahawks player to win the award after quarterback Russell Wilson was recognized a season ago.

         Gear up for the season 12s with my new gear!

"That’s cool," Sherman reacted. "You don’t get trophy’s anymore for anything. There’s one trophy you go for every year now, in Pop Warner there used to be so many.”

Past PFWA Good Guy Award winners include the Pittsburgh Steelers' Jerome Bettis (2005), New York Giants' Tiki Barber (2007), San Diego Chargers' LaDainian Tomlinson (2008), Green Bay Packers' Brett Favre (2009) and Aaron Rodgers (2012), Arizona Cardinals' Kurt Warner (2010), New Orleans Saints' Drew Brees (2011), Denver Broncos' Tim Tebow (2013), Atlanta Falcons' Tony Gonzales (2014), and the Seahawks' Wilson (2014).

To watch the video click here 


Source: | Sep 23, 2015